

These are the minutes of a regular meeting of the Mayor and Board of Alderman of the City of Kaplan held on Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 6:00 p.m. at SSG Ulysse Trahan Council Chamber located at 701 N. Cushing Avenue.

Present: Mayor: Mike Kloesel

Board of Alderman: Dirk Gary

Eva Dell Morrison John Carbaugh Justin Johnson Melissa Guidry

Also Present: Heather S. Guidry, City Clerk

City Attorney, Calvin Woodruff, Jr.

City Engineer, Todd Vincent

Mayor Kloesel called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone.

An opening prayer was offered by Reverend Farley Painter and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mayor Kloesel.

Special Guest Timmie Melancon was present and introduced herself as a candidate for BESE Board, District 7.

Mr. John Clifton Francis was recognized as Citizen of the month.

Motion: Mr. Johnson, Second: Mr. Carbaugh

Unanimously carried to approve the minutes of the June 18, 2019 regular City Council meeting and June 25, 2019 Special City Council meeting as submitted.

Item #1

The treasurer's report was presented in the council's packet for their review.

Motion: Ms. Guidry, Second: Ms. Morrison

Unanimously carried to approve the June 2019 financials as presented.

Item #2

City Engineer, Todd Vincent updated the council on current projects.

Item #3

Chief Hardy was absent from the meeting.

Item #4

Councilwoman Melissa Guidry updated everyone on the Police and Fire Committee meeting that was held on July 10, 2019.

Item #5

Motion: Ms. Guidry, Second: Mr. Johnson

Unanimously carried to adopt a resolution ratifying the Intergovernmental Agreement for Mutual Aid for Hurricane Barry, with the Cities of Abbeville and Erath.

Mayor Kloesel and council gave announcements.

There was no public comment.

Adjourn

/s/ Heather S. Guidry
HEATHER S. GUIDRY, CITY CLERK

/s/ Mike Kloesel
MIKE KLOESEL, MAYOR